Strangely Perfect

This is Our World

Interesting Attack from an Anonymous Russian “Friend”, Ha Ha!

| 3 Comments

I hope everyone is fully aware by now about my opinions on anonymous commentary and spammers.  Er.. yes… they’re shit.  And what I do is fully explained in my site privacy policy, here.

Anyway, my Russian friend left a little note, which I’ll leave, here, because in itself, it’s pretty innocuous.  However, visitors to my site don’t see the whole picture.  Here’s the bits you missed, below.  I’ve deliberately not hyper-linked to anything.  Copy and paste at your own peril.  If you have an un-patched Windows machine on a network, you may have some interesting happenings…Tough shit in that case.

  • Name:  anonymous
  • Website: http://fufubitch.ru/
  • Time of comment: 2008/10/24 at 1:44 PM
  • Email address: Mansgggag@yahoo.com this link is included to enable email bot harvesters!
  • IP Address:  88.201.128.162

terminator tpb original painting1 387x600 Interesting Attack from an Anonymous Russian Friend, Ha Ha!

Terminated!

Now, the IP address is a part of a standard Russian Federation IP address block, Skynet.  The email address, probably dead or spoofed, I’m hardly likely to reply :-?  It’s a bit sad though that I’m now considering blocking all of Russia because of some twat gangster robber types.

Bizarrely, or by design, isn’t Skynet the fictional computer company that goes mad and takes over the world with machines in Terminator?   !!

The good bit happens if you enter the IP Address 88.201.128.162 into your browser address bar….It instantly redirects!

However, it redirects to http://10.12.14.5/cgi-bin/utm5/aaa5

This of course, is part of the block of addresses designated for the use of local networks.  There are three blocks, A,B & C.  I use C internally as do most home routers.

SP SpamSpike 86x86 Interesting Attack from an Anonymous Russian Friend, Ha Ha!

Strangely Perfect Spam Spike

So what the page is trying to do is run locally some pre-installed code which it’s expecting to find in some sub-folders.  Of course, you have to ask yourself how such code could be installed on your local network or PC?  And that’s when I laughed, oh how I laughed and laughed.  I remember how I’ve had a bit of a spam spike recently (see screen dump).

Surely the two events are connected?  And if they are, it’s a good example of keeping on top of your updates and security.  Maybe it’s connected to the panicky windows alert yesterday?  This update is to do with something called a “Remote Procedue Call” which sounds like this twattish effort from my new Russian friend.  I’m not an expert;  I’m just commenting on the effects of actions I see and their probable causes.

Related posts:

  1. Interesting link
    Hey man, hope all is well Ive included a link of my discussion with one of the original Neve designers,...
  2. Interesting?
    http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/Perfectone-3-Channel-Location-Mixer-50s-60s_W0QQitemZ260157058570QQihZ016QQcategoryZ39998QQssPageNameZWDVWQQrdZ1QQcmdZViewItem interesting kit what do you think? me myspace.com/paulrichards7...
  3. So Much for Military Might!
    In an interesting twist to the news today, both the UK military, the US military, the Russian military and the...
  4. HSBC data loss and the Mysterious Phone Call
    I had two interesting calls yesterday from foreign gentlemen. Their basic call went thus: “Hello, is that Mr Rees?”    Hmm...

Author: Strangely

The last remaining founder member of the band that would go on to publish as Crawling Chaos. SGI buddhist. Programmer and software development.

3 Comments

  1. I was reading about Russian gangsters and Russian law yesterday actually.

  2. I apologize for a spam it there was a test of my new program…. It was not necessary to plant such buffoonery

    I’ve replaced Ganster’s URL with this link to a google translated page, because I cannot read it – it’s all in Russian, and I’m a bit thick like that -SP

    It’s a website selling air-guns that look like real to my eyes. As a Buddhist, you know how I feel about weapons and war etc… However, the website is hosted on an American server, even though it’s Russian and uses Russian yandex email….. watch and wait…… watch and wait. -SP

  3. It just gets weirder and weirder…

Leave a Reply

Required fields are marked *.

*


Powered by Sweet Captcha
Verify your real existence,
Put the card in the envelope
  • captcha
  • captcha
  • captcha
  • captcha

Attach a file Uploading File types: jpg, png, gif, zip,pdf, Max size: 3Mbytes, Max count: 3