Oct 242008
A comment spam of a new sort just arrived so it’s most definitely connected to the recent Microsoft RPC warning and my spam spike in a previous post.
It was sourced at http://tinyurl.com and had a link to http://xrl.us which redirects to http://metamark.net/

This suggests to me, as I’ve never had this before, that they’ve automated the service provided by these legitimate companies as a way of obfuscating their url, which is on the domain t35.com Needless to say, this is obfuscated with a domain name privacy service.
You know my thoughts on anonymous people!
I think I’ll block comments for a bit or I’ll never get any supper!
Related posts:
- Fake User Registration Spam Attack Bastards It’s all in the title really! However, the point of...
- Combatting WordPress Trackback Comment Spam Two WordPress trackback spams lead our hero to investigate their...
- Two Examples of a Moving Trend in WordPress Comment Spam I’ve noticed over the past few weeks how the content...
- Yet another WordPress Comment Spam Method Over the last few weeks I’ve had another type of...
- Email Spam Trojans Hiding on Websites as MSNBC Breaking News Items For the past few weeks I suppose everyone has had...
Related posts brought to you by Yet Another Related Posts Plugin.














Hi there,
If you get spam/junk/viruses/scams with an xrl.us URL – please always let us know and we’ll promptly disable it. We’re always delighted to do our part to stop the fools who try to ruin the internet for the rest of us.
The email address at the bottom of every page on metamark.net gets my attention.
– ask
Thanks Bjorn.
I dropped you an email with the emo kid’s skull and crossbones stuff.
Rees