Strangely Perfect

This is Our World

MyBookFace Crap

| 5 Comments

Introduction

I had an interesting referral from an external website early today.  It was,

http://kexhoxonxk.iblogger.org/

iblogger.com has a decent WHOIS entry and is USA based.  However, the sub-domain bit is a bit iffy.

MyBookFace.net

If you follow the link, it’s immediately redirected to

http://mybookface.net/

The tagline for this website is:

theworld1 86x86 MyBookFace Crap

MyBookFace.net

MyBookFace is a friendly social networking alternative to MySpace and FaceBook.

This seems clear and is an obvious parody or amalgam of the two global chatter stations.

Social Networking Problem

The problem with “MyBookFace” is it’s WHOIS – or rather it’s lack of information in it’s whois!!!

Faye bemused.jpg JPEG Image 527×445 pixels 1249469725694 MyBookFace Crap

The registration is blocked by NameCheap.com, which is a bit odd for a public, socially-networked company!

Malware?

Checking up on the ‘company’ I’ve found references to it being a source of malware in the past – but not currently.  These are Google & McAfee.

But checking other things, like the tagline above, we find >4000 websites with exactly the same phrase in it – and some of them look decidely dodgy!  Try this search and see….?

ESET NOD32 Antivirus Alert 1249468338625 86x86 MyBookFace Crap

ESET NOD32 Antivirus Warning of Krytik.AAR trojan

Many of the sites are sexual or cracked entertainment places that all require you to download a “video viewer” or similar.  Many others are no more than catalogue-type directories plastered with adverts.   This is an example of an attempted trojan installation attack on my system from one random site I visited…  After a highly entertaining psuedo-system ‘scan’ which said my ‘system’ had about 57 trojans in it, it then tried to run the setup.exe file.

This was a highly plausible looking scan for newbie-types.  It showed various drives and even a gif-image of a supposed “Windows Alert”.  The Joomla powered website was,

www.techniz.co.uk/rss.php?magadheera%20review

…called the MAGADHEERA REVIEW

article 0 02E6DF0B000005DC 933 468x3261 MyBookFace Crap

Weakest Link - Goodbye!

There are also a heap of reported cracks of various WordPress websites if you Google for “MyBookFace scam” or similar.    It’s sites like these, I think, that have been the source of my referral spam.

Like everything else, WordPress must be set up and maintained correctly, just like a car, if it’s to work properly.

Conclusion – MyFaceBook. You are the weakest link. Goodbye!

I haven’t done any more checks.  But IMHO, Google & McAfee want to do more checks. While MyBookFace.crap may not be the source of malware, anything one-click away seems to be!

Related posts:

  1. Hacking Attempt Today via FoxReality
    Multiple Attempts to Drop Trojan on This Website Failed These are the Wassup details of the attack 69.65.41.165 2009-06-13 10:48:00...
  2. Robert G Allen, Grants, and a Credit Card Slimeball
    Introduction This is a small investigation into mail lists and scammy companies.  Some companies are fine, but I always go...
  3. Trouble with eclub.lv and Browsers
    WordPress User Registration Spam Last year I told how I tackled various sorts of spam hitting the website, in particular,...
  4. Is This the New Google Treasure?
    The King is Dead, Long Live the King! I’m not taking this up as actually, I want $944 per day!...
  5. eBay Success System – Blatant Lie
    Introduction Some time ago I did a little investigation into the spam & scam end of the Google Treasure Chest...

Author: Strangely

The last remaining founder member of the band that would go on to publish as Crawling Chaos. SGI buddhist. Programmer and software development.

5 Comments

  1. haha ‘goodbye!’

  2. Pingback: MyBookface, Google, Utah and Nevis | Strangely Perfect!

  3. Pingback: Dangerous EffectiveCleanse and Scams Too! | Strangely Perfect

  4. While the WHOIS is still alive (until December this year), mybookface.net is dead when I checked and the malware at http://www.techniz.co.uk/rss.php?magadheera%20review is now thankfully showing a 404 not known…..

  5. MyBookFace was originally a project by "Byet" Webhosting. I know the man who owns it, and I talked to him about it not long ago, he said he was shutting it down…

Leave a Reply

Required fields are marked *.

*


Powered by Sweet Captcha
Verify your real existence,
Drag the headphones to the guy
  • captcha
  • captcha
  • captcha
  • captcha

Attach a file Uploading File types: jpg, png, gif, zip,pdf, Max size: 3Mbytes, Max count: 3