Not really being a complete propellorhead means I don’t understand all the actions here – but it’s weird!
I checked the Crawling Chaos logs this morning and there was a recent referral showing like so:
http://192.168.1.2/otrs/index.pl?Action=AgentTicketZoom&TicketID=547496
You’ll see that the network is part of one of the three reserved portions of IP Addresses. It’s the segment that most domestic routers and networked HP printers have as their default settings. You’ll also see that the index file in the /otrs/ folder is a Perl file doing an action.
I dunno, call me thick, but I shouldn’t really be seeing this…. After all, that’s what firewalls are supposed to do with all that port-forwarding and NAT mularkey.
I had a closer look at the log entry and there’s a hostname of 62.12.168.98 which traces back to RapidShare AG in Switzerland and it was looking at this page, http://crawlingchaos.co.uk/about/copyrights, which is nice.
RapidShare is a company that host files for people that do a lot of swapping. They call it “Sharing”. Another way to look at it is that there’s a lot of copyright material hosted on their servers which are usually posted by blogger people. These people think that they are expressing their freedoms by making a big list of commentary on the relative merits of various artistic offerings. They also include links to the copyright material to bolster their viewpoint and bask in the reflected glory attained. Some of them are willing to debate the merits of their actions. For me, it’s clear-cut.
Anyway, it looks to me that the Rapidshare firewall has a bit of leakage as, like a black hole, a small amount of information is leaking out.
Related posts:
- RapidShare
- 20/5/2007:informed RapidShare about copyright infringement...
- Cracked Pot Bush calls Chinese Kettle Black
- Some people have no shame! Bush chides Beijing over rights Bush, totally devoid of any self sense of irony is...
March 5, 2009 at 1:58 am
Hey guy’s! Check it out.HURRY!
JUST DONT CHANGE THE PASSWORD COZ EVERYBODY ALSO USING IT . Enjoyyyy.
h t t p://rapidshare.com/files/203145031/Rapidshare_Premium_Accounts_-_Latest_Issue.zip
March 8, 2009 at 5:30 pm
The above comment from steve2 is part of a little comment spam splurge that’s lasted from the 4th to 6th of March. It’s allowed by me to accompany the post rapidshare-wordpress-comment-spam and associated commentary.